Dinesh Karthik Left KKR Captaincy To Eoin Morgan

Dinesh Karthik Left KKR Captaincy To Eoin Morgan

KKR’s current captain Dinesh Karthik has opted to leave the captainship over to Eoin Morgan for 2020 IPL. KKR has been two-time champions in IPL.

“Dinesh Karthik has informed the KKR management that with a view to focusing on his batting and contributing more to the team’s cause, he wished to handover the captaincy to Eoin Morgan,” KKR said in a statement.

Ahead of the IPL 2018, KKR appointed Dinesh Karthik as their captain by replacing Gautam Gambhir who joined the Delhi Capitals and later to Daredevils. For the two entire seasons of KKR, Karthik remained captain. In 2019, KKR came at 5th position under the guidance of Karthik. Moreover, KKR this year is at fourth place with 8 points after 7 matches.

On Friday, KKR has to fight with Mumbai Indians in Abu Dhabi. KKR will have Morgan as their captain. In 2011 Morgan was appointed as limited-overs captain of England. Morgan led the team to 77 wins from 126 ODIs and 30 wins for 52 T20Is.

CEO of the KKR franchise, Venky Mysore thanked Karthik for his efforts as a captain of KKR team. Mysore added that all the management team was surprised by Karthik’s decision but they all respect his decision.

“Mysore said that they are lucky to have Dinesh Karthik as a leader who always prioritizes their time. He said that a lot of courage is needed for someone to make a decision as Karthik did. “While we were surprised by his decision, we are respectful of his wishes,” Mysore said.

Further adding he said that they are indeed fortunate to have 2019 World cup winner, Eoin Morgan (Vice-captain) to lead the side going forward. During this tournament, Karthik and Morgan worked brilliantly together.

“Although Eoin takes over as captain, this is effectively a role swap and we expect that this transition will work in a seamless manner.”


Facebook Comments