India Elected As Non-Permanent Member Of UN Security Council

India Elected As Non-Permanent Member Of UN Security Council

India for a two-year team elected as a non-permanent member of the UN’s security council. In the election, India with a population of 1.3 billion secured 184 votes out of 193 member General assembly. 

The UN security council also inducted Mexico, Ireland, and Norway.

Out of 5 states available for African and Asian states, India acquired 1 seat. India has claimed one of the five seats available to African and Asian states. Its candidature, unanimously endorsed by the 55-nation Asia Pacific Group at the UN Security Council in June last year.

If followed the rotation of the seat, a seat at the high table would have opened for India. However, India had requested Afghanistan to withdraw its bid for the 2021-22 term, to which Afghanistan had acquiesced. Previously, India has served as a non-permanent member of the UNSC on seven different occasions, a total of 14 years. 

According to Article 23 of the United Nations Charter, the Security Council consists of five permanent member states, along with 10 non-permanent members elected to serve a two-year term. The five permanent members of the Security Council include China, Russia, the United Kingdom, France and the United States of America.

India Elected As Non-Permanent Member Of UN Security Council May Unify All Permanent Members

In 1963, the UN Assembly had decided that five of the non-permanent members will be selected from Asian and African nations, one from Eastern Europe, two from Latin American states, and two from Western Europe and other states. 

Some experts believe that India elected into the Security Council at a time when already 5 permanent members have conflicts. Among the 5 permanent members, Russia and China remain on one side, with the US, UK, and France on the other side.  

However, India came with an opportunity to act as a unifying element at the high table. India has strong bilateral relationships with all five permanent nations of all five states.


Facebook Comments