Monsoon Session Of The Parliament Begins, 17 MPs Test +ve For Covid

Monsoon Session Of The Parliament Begins, 17 MPs Test +ve For Covid

The monsoon session of the parliament began this Monday morning. Before the session was to be started there was a mandatory coronavirus test taken by all Parliament members. Out of all Parliament members, 17 members of Parliament tested positive of the coronavirus. Out of 17, 12 members of Parliament belong to BJP. 2 MPs belong to YSA, and Shiv Sena. DMK and RLP have one each.

As per reports, on September 13, and 14, all members of Parliament were tested for the coronavirus before the starting of the session.

The Bhartiya Janta Party member, Sukanta Majumdar, also one of the COVID-19 infected member of the parliament, tweeted about her positive test result yesterday.

There is a total of 785 members of parliament for the monsoon session. Out of 785, around 200 are of the age 65 years or more than that. People who have age more than 65 years are the population most vulnerable to the coronavirus. 

Earlier, at least seven Union ministers and around 25 MPs and MLAs had contracted the disease. Among them was Union home minister Amit Shah, who underwent a thorough medical examination before the parliament session started.

The parliament session is being held amid huge safety measures that include staggered seating of the MPs in chambers of both Houses to maintain physical distancing. A mobile app has been introduced to register their attendance and seats in the house have been separated with poly-carbon sheets.  

Ahead of the session, all members were requested to get themselves tested for COVID-19. 

Meanwhile, Amit Shah the Home Minister on late Saturday got admitted to the hospital for the third time within a month. For post-COVID care, he was taken to AIIMS in Delhi. Approx two weeks earlier he was discharged from the same hospital.

India is now the second worst-hit coronavirus country globally. 


Facebook Comments