Opposition Unites Over Suspended MPs, Boycott Rajya Sabha

Opposition Unites Over Suspended MPs, Boycott Rajya Sabha

The proceedings of the House will be boycotted by the opposition until the eight members who were suspended are revoked. However, the centre had agreed to the demand but on one condition.

Pralhad Joshi, Ministers of Parliamentary Affairs said that the government will revoke the suspended members if they express regret for their conduct. If the conditions are met then the Centre is also ready to discuss on the Farm Bills.

Ram Gopal Yadav of the Samajwadi Party said that he will offer an apology on behalf of the Opposition.

Speaking after the Zero Hour on Tuesday, Azad also demanded that the government brings a bill which should ensure private players don’t procure food grains below the minimum support price (MSP) fixed by the government. He also asked the government that the MSP should be fixed from time to time as per the C2 Swaminathan formula.

On Monday, 8 opposition members of Rajya Sabha were suspended for their unruly behaviour during the passing of the Farm Bills on Sunday.

The opposition said the members should have been given a chance to explain and demanded a vote on their suspension, but the Rajya Sabha said the decision was based on a government motion.

The members, including Trinamool Congress’s Derek O’Brien, Aam Aadmi Party’s Sanjay Singh, Congress’s Rajeev Satav and CPM’s KK Ragesh, refused to leave over the suspension. The MPs spent the night on the lawns of Parliament complex before joining other opposition leaders to walk to President Ram Nath Kovind’s official residence to bring his attention to the issue.

The Lok Sabha cleared bills and now, the bills will be passed forward to the President to make it as a law.

The opposition lacked the numbers to block the legislation and so demanded that the farm bills should be sent to a select committee for review. However, Harivansh Singh refused and permitted Union Agriculture Minister to continue his reply before voting on the bills.

The row escalated when the opposition demanded physical voting but Harivansh Singh refused. Opposition members ran to the Chair, attempted to tear up the rule book and tried to snatch the Deputy Chairman’s mic. A voice vote took place amid slogans from the opposition.

The manner in which bills were passed on Sunday was “murder of democracy”, said the opposition.


Facebook Comments